Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

2001-08-05 | 6:06 p.m.

life DOES get better, it turns out!

Today has been/continues to be a pretty good day :-)

In the past, I've had these major problems getting up in the morning (see previous entries...), and I think it has a lot to do with medication I've been taking. I am trying to (slowly) ween off of this medication, as I'm doing pretty well now, the meds are just an added expense, and they make it difficult to get out of bed. Now that I'm beginning to cut back on them, I found that the past two mornings haven't been NEARLY as hard to get out of bed... I actually begin to slide into an awake state before my alarm even goes off! I love it!!

This morning, I was about to hit "snooze" and go back to bed for another 9 minutes, when I told myself, "Chris, be honest. You have to go to the bathroom rather badly, and your primary reason for not wanting to get out of bed stems from the fact that you think that your grooming ritual is a huge undertaking." After having realized that all I had to do was put on my robe, and grab my towel and shower caddy, I snapped into one of those super-efficient modes! I walked down the hall, set my stuff up in a shower, hit the bathroom, came back to my shower, and was ready before I would have expected! I even had time to walk to the coffee place and grab a medium white chocolate mocha with vanilla and caramel syrup (my absolute favorite)!

While in the shower, I thought about my life... just a bit of a self-evaluation. "How are you doing right now, Chris? How do you feel about where you are and where you're going?"

I was thinking about this lady who I see at mass a lot. She's maybe in her forties or fiftes, she's German, she's nice, and very beautiful. She wears these great hats. I have never seen her without a hat. I come to find out that she buys all of her clothes at Value Village (a thrift shop-type of establishment). She says that it gives her a really good feeling to know that she doesn't have to buy brand-new clothes... that she can live with wearing what people have thrown away. It was out of this world, very inspiring.

So I thought to myself how wasteful I am in my own life (though I try not to be), and how unnecessarily materialistic I am. For instance, I find great convenience in those dissinfectant wipes that come in the plastic canister thing. I have two or three canisters of them under my sink right now. I then thought to myself that instead of these things, I should just buy a spray bottle, a bucket and a funnel, because there are ways to make household cleaning products out of things that can be found everywhere... I have baking soda and vinegar in my dorm room, and when used properly, those things make a great pipe cleaner! I know I have a recipe for all-purpose household cleaner somewhere in all of my stuff... it's just baking soda, amonia, and something else common, if I remember correctly.

I realized that I have so much crap and that it's totally unnecessary. I came to the conclusion that after I get rid of a ton of this stuff, my life will become much more enjoyable, what without all the clutter.

Interestingly, today's liturgy dealt with materialism. Coincidence? Probably... I don't know.

After mass, I talked with some friends. I grabbed brunch. I came back to my room and piddled around.

I have to work on my term paper tonight, as it is due very, very soon, and I've sat on it for long enough. After my class is finished, I can concentrate on cleaning out some stuff, tidying my room, etc.

OOH! Almost forgot! Last night, this guest from Australia said to me, "Ah, bless ya, mate, you're a legend!" I LOVE THAT!!!

REGARDING THE RLO NIGHTMARE from yesterday's entry... I got an email back from the powers that be in the RLO. Rather than talking this out on the phone or via email, I'm supposed to go in. Looks like I might go in Tuesday... that's the earliest time he has available. I'm sure everything will work out okay, but time will tell.

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

How's our friend [email protected] doing, do you think? Anyone made any progress? Don't forget: nasty emails are one thing, but signing her up for email lists, etc, is quite another!! Good work, everyone! Keep it up!! (read the old entries, if you missed the story! :-)

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

ALSO: My friend Caitlin and her twin sister are looking for an appartment. What it had come down to is this: they have their choice between an appartment that will suffice at an affordable price, and their dream appartment at $100 a month more. She is trying to figure out what to do, and I said I would open the floor to you guys. Email me, ([email protected]) and let me know what you think, so I can tell her what to do!! Thanks you guys!!

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc