Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

24 April 2003 | 3:57 PM

Oh. My. God. I nearly died.

Okay.

Wow.

Okay.

So, okay wow. Okay.

Monday night, Jamie and I go to see my favourite author in the whole wide world (David Sedaris).

After his reading/comedy, he was doing some book signing. So, I hit up the bookstore (only carrying David Sedaris, and An Obedient Father by Akhil Sharma- one of David's favourites) conveniently located in the lobby of the theatre, a few feet away from where the signing was to take place. Jamie stood in line to hold us a spot. I bought my first-read and favourite, Naked, for me, and my mother's favourite, Me Talk Pretty One Day, for her.

I met Jamie in line, and waited, trying not to get nervous.

We get to the front of the line. Now, during his show, he mentioned that his brother and sister-in-law were expecting, a week overdue, and were going to have labour induced that night. So anyway, he takes my book and starts to doodle a rubber hand (also mentioned during the show)... He looks up at me and asks, "Are you and uncle, Chris?"

"No," I said at first, completely forgetting Justin and Christopher. "YES," I then blurted out, "YES! No, yes. I am an uncle."

He looked at me, mortified that I could completely forget my own status as uncle. What a horrible person I seem. I then explain to him how I've never met my brother in person, because my parents never told me about him, yadda.

So then-- and Oh My God you guys, this is the best part-- he says to me, Oh My God, I can barely type this: "Wow, where's your book?"

Oh.

My.

God.

I nearly died.

I told him that his books are my inspiration, and that it was kind of in progress.

He asked me to go on about my story.

He seemed captivated, looking deep into my eyes for pretty much the entire story, asking if I was upset with my parents... I explained that I was fine... I don't really talk to pop or anything, but I'm fine.

So then he gets the book that Jamie's holding, the post-it note (that says who he's supposed to make it out to) says, "Adele." He asks Jamie if she's Adele. She says, "no..."

"Who's Adele?" he asks.

"His/My mom," Jamie and I say simultaneously.

Blank stare. Then we all laugh.

And then, Oh My God you guys, this is the best part, I swear to God you guys, this is what he writes in my Mom's book:

To Adele
With the pleasure of
meeting your charming son
/s/ David Sedaris

Oh.

My.

God.

My favourite author in the entire world, told my Mom that I'm charming.

I nearly died.

So, note to self, write book.

We shook hands and exchanged a "It was great to meet you," and he got back to the line, and I got out, Jamie practically carrying me, to a cab (that turned out to be free, how nice).

Oh, wow.

More about the week later, hopefully.

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc