Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

08 February 2005 | 6:52 PM

Seething.

Okay.

First things first. Sorry I dropped off the face of the planet there for a little while, I promise to (try to) not ever do that again. It's just that, well, I got employed, and it's really taking its toll on me. More on what I do and how I do it later.

But for now?

I.

Am.

Seething.

I have been banking at the same establsihment since I was old enough to legally handle my own money. And I have had no. problems. period.

Until...

Recently, I noticed some unauthorized activity on my account, so I called it in. The man I spoke to asked if I would like my card de-activated. I told him that, no, I would not like my card de-activated. The man told me that my card would not be de-activated. Cool.

For about the next week, my card wouldn't work anywhere. Once I actually had money in the account (for a pleasant change of pace), I decided to get in touch with the bank about this whole card-not-working thing.

Apparently, because fraud had been reported, the card was automatically de-activated (despite the conversation I had with the guy), and a new card was not ordered. It would seem as though they expect their customers to intuitively know what to do in that situation, which was decidedly not the case here in the world I live in.

I told them to re-order a card for me. No big-- it'll be there lickety-split. Right on. What should I do about money, then? My card's not working, I have three checks (and four bills-- YOU do the math), no cash, and the only food in my apartment was rice. (Here's a list of the ingredients: fuckin' RICE.) Huh. Well, the guy I spoke to suggested that I cash a check and live off that for a while.

Cool.

So I do. Here's the thing, though: when you go to cash a check at a check-cashing place (which was necessary due to the fact that when my bank is open, I'm at work), they charge you roughly 20%. Steep, yes. But justified.

Once that was done, I called the bank again to ask for credit for the charge for check I had to cash, and to see where the hell my goddamn card was, since it was supposed to be here and isn't. Well, they can't issue me money to reimburse me for what I had to do to cover their fuck-up. And what's more is that Mr. Ass-face who said he would order a new card, didn't.

I took off time from work today so that I could go to my local branch, iron this all out, check on the status of the new card, and to get my FUCKING MONEY back.

After speaking with a teller, an associate branch manager AND a grown-up branch manager (who was ALSO very rude, interestingly), no resolution was reached. Except that I should lodge a complaint (which I TOTALLY intend to do), and to call the branch where I opened my account (in cali-FUCKING-FORNIA) to see if THEY can issue me credit, which they probably can't.

I threatened to close my account. Which I really don't intend to do, but it was my pathetic trump card in the argument, so there it went.

Jesus Christ. Someone just put $20 in my account and I'll leave you alone. Honestly, for every time I've paid $22 in overdraft fees, I would THINK it would be fairly easy to credit me for evening the score after you dropped the ball. Don't you think? I mean, come on right now.

Ladies and gentlemen, I am quite litterally shaking with anger.

Seeeeeeeeeeeeeeeething.

There's my two cents. Or twenty dollars, rather.

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc