Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

2001-07-30 | 9:12 p.m.

"Staff Development."

Okay. This is a really funny story.

I'm working a totally kushy position this summer, but some of the staff is less than satisfied with some of the supervisors. There's pretty much all the necessary background info.

Today was "Staff Development Day," (or, let's pretend to have fun while playing miniatrue golf and eating dinner like one big happy family whose parents sleep in twin beds, fully clothed, and for Pete's sake, SMILE, DAMMIT!! Oh, and you're not getting paid for these hours, either). Our crew had mixed feelings about this outing.

So here's how the staff is distributed:

Supervisors: 2.

"Lead" Staff: 1.

Plebian Staff: 5.

Total: 8.

Here's the distribution of attitudes in the group:

Loved staff development: 2.

Went, but would rather have been drawn and quartered by a team of wild horses: 4.

Didn't get to go: 2.

Here's what happened... I was originally part of the group that "didn't get to go." It was, after all, my day off. I had hoped to disappear from the face of the Earth, at least around the time we were set to depart. Another staff member, we'll call her "Gina," wasn't feeling well (genuinely), but made it a big deal so as to get out of "Staff Development." We were set to go grab a bite to eat after the gang left. Their departure time was set at about 3:00 pm, we would be leaving maybe 3:30ish. So around 3:15, my phone rings.

"Oh, there's Gina," I said to myself. "Hello," I answered the phone.

The person on the other end of the line was difficult to hear because of some background noise. "Ready to go?" I heard a female voice ask.

Thinking it was Gina, I replied "Yup!"

After agreeing that we would meet downstairs in a minute, I came to the horrifying conclusion that the voice on the phone was NOT in fact that of my dear Gina, but rather of my SUPERVISOR. I quickly telephoned Gina.

"Hello?" She said, half-awake.

"What in the hell am I going to do?" I explained to her the entire situation.

She said, "Well, I'm not going, but it looks like you might have to."

I knew she was right. So I went. I hadn't taken my meds that morning, so I wasn't TOO with it, but it was still pretty miserable. I let my co-workers in on what had happened, and we all had a good hidden chuckle, but DAMN. Our driver nearly killed us a few times. We had to play miniature golf, for heavenssake. How do you get through all that, unpaid, on your day off? I made it somehow, but you can be sure that the first thing I did when I reentered my humble living space was pop the meds I was scheduled to take a few hours earlier. Sigh.

I didn't make ANY of the calls I was planning on making today, I didn't read from my book so far today, I didn't even send off the emails I was hoping to write today. I DID, however, manage to watch "Kentucky Fried Movie." Oh, well, makes for a good story.

Oh, and by the by... how are you kids doing on those emails to our friend Leah? (If you don't know what I'm talking about, read the last two entries, okay? Thanks!)

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc