Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

2001-08-02 | 7:03 p.m.

duty/reminder/caitlinpoll

So very tired am I.

But a little relieved that the last Teen Tour group has left the building (they were on my floor, incidentally.)

I was on duty last night, and these children were, by far, the worst group we've had, in my humble opinion.

Night before last, they had been reminded about quiet hours three times: first by myself, then by Public Safety Officers, lastly by the lights... (you can turn off most of the lights in the hall during quiet hours, leaving enough light on to satisfy fire codes). That was at about 11:30 PM. At 1:30 AM, they were found in the hallway singing "Happy Birthday" at the top of their lungs to a member within their group. I told my supervisor in the morning (which was yesterday), who distributed a memo to the group counselors that day.

So, like I said, I was on duty last night. The group leaders had to be reminded AGAIN (repeatedly) that quiet hours started at 10:00 PM, that there were guests on the floor above us, that there were residents on the floor below us, and that there were residents on the floor (only two of them, but they're there nonetheless)! In response to one of the reminders, I was informed by the head counselor that the children would not be sleeping tonight, as the flight took off very early the next morning. Excellent.

The floor was a practically a brothel. Thank goodness I had Natalie and Don with me! (They're also conference staff, but not on duty last night). Besides the noise, the handsoap dispenser from the men's restroom lost contact with the wall (torn off? fell? who knows?)... The emergency/house phone in the hall also lost contact with the wall (as a result of roughhousing in the hall)... A chair was stolen from a room and abandoned in the hall (being a firehazard, I asked the occupant's of the chair's rightful room to retrieve it, and replace it in their room)... Additionally, some boys were giving their friend a good head-shaving in the restroom with another room's chair, the restroom trash can and an electric razor. After the scene was abandoned, I secured the chair in a storage room, moved the trash can to its rightful location, having emptied it, and, finally, I returned the electric shaver to the group's counselor. When I returned to the area with a broom and dustpan, the hair shavings had been cleaned up. The counselor informed me that he made the students clean it up.

After they regained (partial) control, I headed off to bedd (around 1:30 AM). At their time of departure (roughly 3:30 AM), my slumber was once again interrupted by their shouts down the hall, "HOLD THE ELEVATOR, I'M COMING!" and slamming doors. I went to the bathroom, where I discovered that these students did not flush ONE toilet or urinal (one of my biggest peeves).

Later today, the custodial staff was cleaning out a room in which a male and a female counselor had roomed. Together.

In this room was discovered two or three empty champagne bottles, empty tequila bottles, empty Seagram's bottles, along with other empty bottles. It had also been discovered that an econo-size package of condoms had been used during their stay, and that the used condoms had been deposited in the room's drawers, under the beds, on the floors, and in the window sills. It was surmised that the drinking had been done rather recklessly, as one of the women's room toilets was full of vomit (AGAIN with the flushing! Come on, you guys, it's not that hard to do, and so very considerate!! FLUSH, DAMN YOU! FLUSH!!)

My supervisor assures me that the tour company will be contacted, informed of all of this inappropriate behavior, and fined replacement fees, housekeeping fees, and maintenance fees. And rightfully so, in my opinion.

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

How's our friend [email protected] doing, do you think? Anyone made any progress? Don't forget: nasty emails are one thing, but signing her up for email lists, etc, is quite another!! Good work, everyone! Keep it up!! (read the old entries, if you missed the story! :-)

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

ALSO: My friend Caitlin and her twin sister are looking for an appartment. What it had come down to is this: they have their choice between an appartment that will suffice at an affordable price, and their dream appartment at $100 a month more. She is trying to figure out what to do, and I said I would open the floor to you guys. Email me, ([email protected]) and let me know what you think, so I can tell her what to do!! Thanks you guys!!

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc