Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

15 September 2001 | 1:18 PM

Candles

Okay.

Yesterday, the Resident Assistants (who have moved in, and are going through training) announced to us all that they were going to be doing the candle thing at 7:00 PM in the "butt hut." (I like to call it the "smoker's pavilion," because I think it sounds more elegant, but whatever.) Some people went and bought a whole bunch of red, white and blue candles. (I had some white emergency candles that I brought... I had enough for myself, Don and Natalie.) We got in a big circle, and at 7:00 PM, we all lit our candles. Todd, our new Residence Hall Director, suggested a full minute of silence in rememberance of the events of September 11th. We stood there, as dusk set in, silent.

Silent.

After a while, Todd said that if anyone wanted to pray for anything in particular, that it was a good time. People prayed for the victims, of course, and for the families and friends and everything... In thanksgiving for the health and safety of everyone not directly effected by the tragedy, for the speedy recovery of those rescued, and for those who could still be rescued... for peace in this troubling time... for friends and family in the military whose near futures are still somewhat uncertain. For forgiveness... That God would be in the hearts of those who want vengence in response to their anger, their outrage. Someone prayed for every person of every ethnic group, that no one be discriminated against in response to all of this based on ethnic origin or heritage...

Slowly, people began to sit down, to place their candles on the ground in front of them.

Little puddles of wax began to form. We began to notice the wax that had hit the ground and splattered our shoes and pant cuffs.

Slowly, people began to leave, one by one... There were hugs. A couple of tears here and there.

Soon, a couple of people brought their candles to the center of the circle, and set them right next to each other. Others followed, bringing their own candles, and the candles of those who had left their candles sitting in the circle.

At least two dozen candles were clumped together, burning, shoulder to shoulder, in the center of a circle formed by random little globs of wax. The candles sat in the middle, so close, as if to say, "I dare you to try to break us apart, to scatter us again. Just try it. No matter how hard you blow, you'll never blow all of us out in one breath."

Red, white, and blue candles melting there. Their wax blending together. Blending together like the past few days have, in our memories. And yet, the wicks were still burning with a light that will remain in our hearts and in our minds for as long as our hearts will beat and our minds will remember.

A woman who works here on campus said that she went to lunch with a friend yesterday. At noon, a waiter walked around with a large sign that said, "Silence." Everyone put down their forks and were quiet. Even the kitchen noises stopped. Amazing.

On a happier note, I received my laptop computer yesterday, as well as some liturgical CD's and some artwork I had ordered... I also got that bedding I ordered... I feel like an asshole, kind of, now. National tragedy, and I get stuff. I shouldn't feel bad, though, because I ordered everything before all of this happened... but still, it feels a little akward.

I'm a little discouraged, however... I've been sleeping late again, which sort of scares me... And I'm not really motivated to work on my business... Maybe I'll feel like it more when I get everything unpacked (no, I'm not done yet...)

I have started knitting again. I don't remember if I mentioned this, but my knitting diaryring is going to be knitting patches that measure one square foot each... There's a knitting magazine which will be collecting these sqares, and putting them together to make quilts for the survivors and the victims' families... it's pretty cool. They are asking for red, white and blue, but they will accept any color and pattern. Which works well, since all I have is grey right now...

Well, I guess that's all for now. Here's today's smile:

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc