Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

22 October 2001 | 1:12 AM

Insight like you wouldn't believe.

Okay.

I just received an email I found particularly touching. I nearly cried because of the truth I found in it. I would like to share it all with you.

We all think of George Carlin as a comedian, but in this he makes a lot of sense.

A wonderful Message by George Carlin The paradox of our time in history is that we have taller buildings but shorter tempers, wider freeways, but narrower viewpoints.

We spend more, but have less. We buy more, but enjoy less.

We have bigger houses and smaller families, more conveniences, but less time. We have more degrees but less sense, more knowledge, but less judgment, more experts, yet more problems, more medicine, but less wellness.

We drink too much, smoke too much, spend too recklessly, laugh too little, drive too fast, get too angry, stay up too late, get up too tired, read too little, watch TV too much, and pray too seldom.

We have multiplied our possessions, but reduced our values. We talk too much, love too seldom, and hate too often. We've learned how to make a living, but not a life. We've added years to life not life to years.

We've been all the way to the moon and back, but have trouble crossing the street to meet a new neighbor. We conquered outer space but not inner space. We've done larger things, but not better things. We've cleaned up the air, but polluted the soul. We've conquered the atom, but not our prejudice.

We write more, but learn less. We plan more, but accomplish less. We've learned to rush, but not to wait. We build more computers to hold more information, to produce more copies than ever, but we communicate less and less.

These are the times of fast foods and slow digestion, big men and small character, steep profits and shallow relationships. These are the days of two incomes but more divorce, fancier houses, but broken homes. These are days of quick trips, disposable diapers, throwaway morality, one night stands, overweight bodies, and pills that do everything from cheer, to quiet, to kill.

It is a time when there is much in the showroom window and nothing in the stockroom. A time when technology can bring this letter to you, and a time when you can choose either to share this insight, or to just hit delete. Remember, spend some time with your loved ones, because they are not going to be around forever.

Remember, say a kind word to someone who looks up to you in awe, because that little person soon will grow up and leave your side.

Remember, to give a warm hug to the one next to you, because that is the only treasure you can give with your heart and it doesn't cost a cent. Remember, to say, "I love you" to your partner and your loved ones, but most of all mean it. A kiss and an embrace will mend hurt when it comes from deep inside of you. Remember to hold hands and cherish the moment for someday that person will not be there again.

Give time to love, give time to speak and give time to share the precious thoughts in your mind.

I wanted to share that with you because I really, honestly want every reader to know that I value and appreciate them. I'm not trying to move product. I'm not trying to win you over in any way. It could just be the fact that it's late, but I honestly feel that without any readers, there would be little point in me doing all of this diary stuff. And I really enjoy doing it. The opportunity to do something enjoyable *and* meaningful doesn't present itself as often as I might like it to. But it has, in the form of this diary. I guess what I'm trying to say is that I appreciate you, (yes, you, looking at the screen, not blinking nearly enough- bad for your eyes), you give meaning to the persuit of updating this diary. Thank you. Thank you for giving meaning to something I find enjoyable. I wish I could email you all individually, but I can't. So there it is.

I also heard a tremendously moving song. It's from Pippin, the musical. The song is doubtlessly more moving when sung by a full cast on stage with the lights and everything, but here are the lyrics for you, just the same. It's called, "Morning Glow."

Morning glow, morning glow,
starts to gimmer when you know
winds of change are set to blow
and sweep this whole land through.
Morning glow is way past due.

Oh, morning glow,
I'd like to help you grow.
We should have started long ago, so,

Morning glow, all day long,
while we sing tomorrow's song.
We never knew we could be so strong,
but now it's very clear
morning glow is almost here....

Morning glow, by your light
we can make the new day bright!
And the phantoms of the night
will fade into the past!

Morning glow is here
at last.

And as if you needed a Smile of the Day,

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc