Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

19 November 2001 | 12:41 AM

...And that's how Chris met his first boyfriend.

Okay.

The school's server has been down, so we haven't had internet all weekend, except for SU sites. So we all checked our email and class schedules a lot. Sigh.

My feet are killing me... I just got back from the longest late-night walk of my life. I felt like going for a walk tonight, so I asked Jamie if she wanted to join me after tonight's Mass. (I was in no shape to go to morning Mass. Eugh.) She said that she would love to join me, and we ran into Nancy on our way off campus, so Nancy joined us. We walked all the way down Broadway, and then headed all the way to the Scottish Rite Masonic Temple, almost to the lake... then we walked back. I was wearing the worst possible shoes, which made my feet hurt like little bitches, but whatever. We had a really cool conversation, and we decided that we would be going again soon. Yay! Chris is going to start going for walks!! Weight loss! Hoorah!

So, on Saturday Night, we went to Gay Bingo. Which was terrific. In case you've never been, it's 16 games of bingo (duh) on Capitol Hill (predominantly homosexual-friendly community). It is run by, and benefits the Lifelong AIDS Alliance. Every month, there is a different theme, and everyone dresses up and heads on over. The Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence supervise players and verify bingoes, and it is run under the Auspices of the Washington State Gambling Commission. It's hosted by a 7-foot drag-queen who goes by the name of Glamazonia. She rows on a crew team. She's hysterically funny. Last month, she mentioned that the day after this month's game was her birthday. On the way there, I purchased a bouquet of flowers to say, "Happy Birthday," and "Keep up the good work," and, "I wish I looked as hot as you do in skimpy women's clothing and make-up." I gave her the flowers before the games started. She hugged me, telling me that I was so sweet for remembering.

So then, there's these little scraps of paper on the tables. They say, "I saw you!" on them, and people write messages to one another on them. They hand them to a Sister of Perpetual Indulgence with a one-dollar-donation to the Lifelong AIDS Alliance, and then Glamazonia reads them outloud into her cordless mic between numbers being called. I sent one up reading,

Glammie-
Happy Birthday! Coffee?
(heart), Chris
(phone number here)

I sent it up. She began to read it. After "Happy Birthday," People sang that stupid song. Then she says, "wait, there's more!!!" and reads the rest (except for the phone number, which was nice). So then everyone looks around. Glammie says, "which one is Chris? I want to see Chris!" I raise my hand. Miss Intermission, (the co-hostess who performs a hysterical monologue at the end of the intermission, and later performs her impression of a cat with a hairball, or a slug or something), says, "Oh look! He's got cute little dimples!!!" Which I do. I have cute little dimples. I think it's cellulite hail-dammage, but if people want to think them adorable, we'll go with that. Glammie says, "Oh! You're the one who brought me the flowers! How sweet are you? Thank you, Chris! And yes, I will go to coffee with you. I have your number. I'll give you a call."

WOOHOO!!! (dances, while he sings) "I have a date with a 7-foot drag-queen!"

Then someone says, "How old are you going to be?"

She makes a big deal about how rude it is, and then admits that she's going to be 37 years old. Wow. I had no idea.

And it's fine, I mean, whatever. So I'm roughly half her age. Big deal. She's nice, she's fun, she's humerous, intelligent, she's performing a great service for the community. She's terriffic! And maybe it's just happy birthday coffee, not like, we're dating coffee. Which would be fine, too. But when you think about it, who wouldn't love to have a 7 foot drag-queen named Glamazonia for a girlfriend?

After the show, I went up and she said that she had phone number, and that she would call. Huzzah!

More later....

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc