Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

13 April 2002 | 11:48 PM

Better Safe Than Stupid

Okay.

Refresh yourselves on this story, okay?

Ready?

Don't read on until you're familiar with the story. Ready? Okay.

So we went to bingo tonight. I was thinking about that story (link above), and how since then, I had written her "I saw you" notes saying things like, "I haven't heard from you... Is it my cologne?" Still no acknowledgement. Fine.

So, tonight, I sent up an "I saw you" explaining that I was sorry for not following up, but that if she was still interested in coffee, I would love to go. I gave her my full name, two phone numbers and two email addresses. It was kind of later in the evening, so I was concerned that she never got the note, since she didn't acknowledge it at all. Maybe because it was more of a personal note, but just the same, better safe than stupid.

So, after the show, I hung out, watching people taking pictures with her and everything. After that, I kind of lost her for a moment, but venturing backstage, I found her in her dressing room. After a gentle knock, the following conversation ensued.

GLAMMIE: Yes?
CHRIS: Hi, Glammie. I just wanted to make sure that you got the note I sent up.
GLAMMIE: Oh, yeah, I did... Sorry I haven't been in touch, it's been totally hellish...
CHRIS: No worries, I completely understand.
GLAMMIE: But I will definitely get in touch with you, and we will have coffee. I'll email you, email is better. I never have my phone on.
CHRIS: Yeah, that works better for me, too... Cool.
GLAMMIE: Yeah, I have your note there at the foot of the stage... I set it aside, I'll go get it....
CHRIS: (Notices her anxiousness to get out of her uncomfortable clothing and wiggage.) Would you like me to go get it for you?
GLAMMIE: Yeah, it should be there to the side, 'cause I wanted to keep it, so...
CHRIS: Okay...

(CHRIS goes out to the foot of the stage and finds his note. He returns to GLAMMIE'S dressing room.)

CHRIS: (Sets the note down on the countertop.) Here you go.
GLAMMIE: Thanks... I'll be in touch...
CHRIS: Okay, thanks! Have a good night!

END OF ACT I

So, then I think about "the fellow." But I haven't really made a commitment to either one. The fellow was, "well, coffee..." and this potential date with a seven-foot drag queen is, well... coffee. Are these dates? If so, what have I gotten myself into? Am I dating two people at once? Is that acceptable? Will one be offended if they find out about the other? What am I doing?

Comments, suggestions? Email me, please. Thanks.

So bingo was supposed to be terrific tonight.

First, the daubers I won at eBay didn't get here. They were supposed to be here weeks ago. After I asked the crazy bitch what was up, and resent her confirmation that I had, in fact paid, several weeks ago, she assured me that the daubers would be here by today at the latest. Nope.

It worked out well, though, with the two daubers I have, and here's why. I had reserved a table (8 seats), and had six people signed up to go. Candy came with me, two became otherwise occupied, and the other two are missing-in-action.

Do I have poor leadership skills? Was this a fluke? Are people not as responsible as I expect them to be? Are my expectations too high? Should I even be making Bingo reservations?

I put down $120 for the seats. I only would have lost $30 if all six of us showed up and paid me back the $15 admission fee. Instead, I lost $95. I have to stop doing shit like this.

I'm going to have to call Grandma and cry about Wendy and books and bingo and classes and whatever else I can think of, so that she might give me money.

I'm breaking out along my lower lip. Unsightly and painful. Story of my life.

Additionally, my pharmacy had shorted me on meds, but won't give me more. I have a refill available, but the insurance wouldn't cover it, so I would have to pay out of pocket. I had major discussions with the local pharmacist, and the pharmacist from the store which originally filled the prescription. They were as helpful as an acid flashback. I called Mom and told her the whole story. By the time I was done with my errands, there were three days worth of meds waiting for me at the pharmacy, compliments of my Mom. She had to pay out of pocket, but I get this feeling like after speaking with several people (with her wide vocabulary and shameless expletive use), she will get her money refunded, as well as maybe a little something extra thrown in, for my devotion to their store and for my terrible, and potentially life-threatening inconvenience.

I can't wait until Summer, I think. I figure that if I'm not in a serious thing with "the fellow," then I can sleep for three months straight and never have to deal with this kind of stuff.

I am so tired. I must retire. Goodnight, sweet princesses and princes...

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc