Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

21 March 2003 | 11:20 PM

What Is It Good For? Absolutely Nothin'! (Part One)

Okay.

I recently read somewhere, before the war started, some people were having a meeting or a press-conference or something having to do with the war in some building or some office with a huge print of Guernica in it.

The print was covered before the conference started.

Initially, I was pissed. They're trying to help guide the way we think by controling what art we look at, is that it? They want us to want war so badly that they'll cover up something that might make us not want war? Jesus H! Bastards.

Then I thought, you know, how amazing! When you think of ink on paper having that much power... So much power that they have to cover it, to silence it, so that it won't influence us....

But it's ink. On paper.

First, how amazing and beautiful that art has that much power in our culture, even when we underrate it as much as we do. Second, what amazing creatures we are to be able to interpret ink on paper as a symbol of horrendous effects of war, as a suggestion that maybe the same thing will happen (has happened) again, that we can make those connections.

I was in complete awe when this hit me.

Think about that, the next chance you get.

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc