Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

2001-08-15 | 10:03 p.m.

... you can't get them all, though....

Okay.

I just got off the phone with my Mom. Apperantly, a very sad thing happened back home: Kennan, a friend of mine from school, was in a fatal car accident very early this morning. Aparently, she was driving home to be with her family for her brother's wedding, which was set to take place soon, (this weekend?) and at about 3:00 AM, she fell asleep behind the wheel, and the car hit a tree. This was supposed to be a very special time for her, her family and her family's friends.

The article from the Monterey County Herald can be found here.

Kennan and I went to middle school together. She was my French teacher's daughter, and since her Mom would stay after school got out, and my Mom worked at the School District Office (on campus), we would hang out a lot.

We would study French, for one... Sometimes, when a couple of other kids were around, (this is kind of silly,) we would find a cardboard box and flatten it out... there was a really steep, grassy hill behind the school... we would go out there and sit down on the cardboard and slide down the hill at speeds which, at our age, seemed phenomenal and thrilling.

Her Mom had organized for some middle school students to go to England and France with an educational tour group company. She (our French teacher), her husband and Kennan went with maybe or 9 other people, including myself. It was the first time I had been out of the country (not counting a day trip to Tijuana). It was marvelous and thrilling... what I wouldn't give to do it all again...

We ended up going to different high schools... I ran into her again, later, when I was a high school sophomore, and she was a high school junior... we were both set to take the SAT in Salinas, but it was cancelled. I hadn't found out until my Mom had left, taking the car to North Salinas to get the tires changed, but I ran into Kennan and she had a car (a Volvo, ironically- a car with a good reputation for safety), so she drove me to where my Mom was, no questions asked.

I wasn't as close to her as some of her other friends, but she was definitely a good friend... you could talk to her or joke with her about anything... she was always so kind, so welcoming. Intelligent and funny... It's really sad to hear that someone so special has slipped away.

I hate to sound trite, but I wish I would have told her what a great person I thought she was. I'm always afraid that something like this will happen, and so I will try to tell people how much they mean to me, from time to time... I guess you can't get them all, though. It's a shame, too. I'll start by letting you guys know: I LOVE YOU ALL, just for reading my stuff... It means more to me than you'll ever realize... You are so much better than any shrink ever could be... You all listen to me, unconditionally, and that's a beautiful thing. Thank you for reading, and please be safe.

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc