Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

26 August 2001 | 10:31 PM

Cthulu rears his cephalapodic head.

Okay.

This weekend, I had to work. There were a total of four groups here. CISPES, a group working for peace in El Salvador (thus the PES part of CISPES--- maybe "Community In Search of Peace In El Salvador??"); there was Kepler College, the nation's first approved astrology school; WACLEA, the Washington (something) Law Enforcement Agents, (ie, seemingly burnt out cops?); and DRAGONFLIGHT!!

Dragonflight is not a long acronym or anything. Dragonflight is a group of hundreds upon hundreds of men, women and children who play the following: roleplaying games, card games, miniature games, computer games, strategy games, mind games, yadda....

They have been holding this event once a year for 21 years. One weekend (three days) of gaming. They have a reputation for not sleeping. They have a reputation for not showering. Their gaming spirit is so intense and continuous that it is the only time that our cafeteria is open 24 hours a day. Isn't that INSANE?? We (conference assistants) didn't have to pay for food this weekend, however, which was nice.

So the average Dragonflighter is male, a little greasy-looking (from not showering), exceptionally tired (from not sleeping)... Their hairstyles, for the most part, are off the beaten path (I even saw a couple of mullets: endangered species, I thought)! Statistically, there are more Dragonflighters with BMI's in the higher range than there are with lower BMI's. Many wear glasses. For all of this, in combination with the pre-conceived notions held by society about these people, Dragonflighters are a little socially intimidating, to most.

HOWEVER. In working with them, I found many of them to be quite friendly. Very intelligent, as well. I even learned a little.

For instance, there was this one guy, and, in passing, we noticed that he was carrying around what looked like a stuffed dragon. My friend/co-CA, Natalie, and I thought that it was pretty cute and would make an adorable souvenir, so we asked at the convention registration desk if they were available for purchase. He explained that no, they were not, but did this dragon character have tentacles hanging off of his face? Why, yes! I thought my eyes were playing tricks on me, as we only saw it in passing, and I figured it was a little bizzare to see a tentacle-sporting dragon, but, now that I think about it, yes. The dragon definitely had tentacles on its face.

That's no dragon, my naive friends, that's Cthulu (pronounced, kah-THOO-loo).

*blank stare.*

Okay. You see, in ancient times, there was this god, Cthulu. He lived in outer space.

*blank stare.*

He was cast down and confined to the bottom of the ocean. Should he ever rise again, he will destroy the Earth, and eat the brains of humans.

*blank stare.*

Riiiiiiiiiiiiiight. Well, that was pretty cool. Didn't know that. Cthulu, eh?

Yeah! The stuffed baby Cthulus are available for $15 at (Dreamscape, was it?) in the U district. I used to work there.

Cool. Thanks!

There was also this woman who wore costumes to all of the games. At first, she was dressed as a medieval noblewoman, and then she was dressed as a gypsie. I lost track of her over the weekend, though...

At checkout, there was this guy who gave me a clockwork cat figurine that he won at an auction. I don't know its value or signifigance, but it was very kind of him.

We also got free tee-shirts. That was pretty cool, too. Admitedly, nothing haute couture, but it's not bad workout/sleep/laundry gear, I guess....

We all had some pretty obscure hours to be working... it was all pretty crazy.

On other things... mom's not particularly thrilled to see me continuing with my RLO issues... I understand her logic, I'm just not sure that laying down is appropriate here.

Natalie and I are arranging "Mad Musicals!" We were talking about great American musicals, and came to the conclusion that there are many people we know (including ourselves) who have not seen every musical, leaving some of the best ones yet unseen. So, every night this week, we're hosting a viewing of one or two musicals. It should be fun. SU STUDENTS READING RIGHT NOW? INVITED TO ATTEND? (non-threatening) SEATTLE RESIDENTS INTERESTED IN ATTENDING? EMAIL ME!!

My printer is broken. This becomes a problem in working on business stuff, but I'm planning on calling Tech Support tomorrow. I hope they can help somewhat... I'm on it...

I have to do laundry. ugh. bollocks.

I put a new picture on hotornot.com. My last one only scored a 3.8, but it was a bad picture, so, we're tryin' again. I can be found here. Mostly sixes so far. I think I'm averaging 6.5 right now?

Erm, I'm trying to think of anything else...

OH, HAPPY BIRTHDAY CATHY!! (aka Arithena...) HONEY- YOUR BIRTHDAY PRESENT IS ON ITS WAY! SORRY IT'LL BE LATE :-(

Okay. Going to bed.

Eventually...

Thought of the day:

OhGahd.

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc