Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

29 August 2001 | 2:13 PM

Today on "Civilised Conversation In A Land Of Barbarians," Chris answers some mail from fans.

Okay.

Today I got an email from John Powers, a famed diarylandite.

From: John R. Powers

To: [email protected]

Sent: 8/29/2001 12:41 PM

Subject: seattle question

Hiya, I was just in Seattle at the beg. of August. Nice city.

Question: That woman who jumped from the bridge and was taunted and

yelled

at by truckers, a bus, and some cars before she did so...

What are normal people's reaction to that incident out there?

If you're not a normal person, I apologize.

-johnpowers

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Hi, John!

Thanks for your email. I have checked out your diary a few times, and I really appreciate and admire your work. I'm honored to hear from you.

I haven't really paid much attention to that part of the news. I've known people who have committed suicide, and I find that (as for me, anyway,) ignoring what "sources say" and coming to peace with it on my own is much more effective.

as I understand, people did taunt her, almost as if to encourage her ravaged emotional state. and she jumped.

the best explanation i can offer is this: when faced with a potentially suicidal person, many don't believe that the person is serious. To try to demonstrate this hypothesis, they offer a "if-you're-going-to-do-it-do-it, if-not-shutthefuckup" attitude. This drives people further over the edge. figuratively *and* literally, it seems.

That bums me out, as a regular Seattlite. Hell, it bums me out as a member of the human species. I think it has always been my opinion that suicide is a choice that only that person can make. Naturally, that person is very, VERY fragile, and to think that people would be so abrasive to people in that state almost terrifies me. If I were dying in the hospital, would they come into my hospital room and scream taunts at me? Who is to say they wouldn't? They taunted this woman... Scary stuff.

Again, thanks for your email. Keep up the good work!

yours,

Chris

There you go, boys and girs. What say we send some warm-white-light-energy towards the family and friends of that lady. I'm sure they could use it.

Okay. So, at the current moment, I'm pulling a 5.9 at hotornot.com. I know I shouldn't be so obsessed with this, but it does make a difference to me, I think. I know it's sad, and irrational, but it's interesting.

If I remember correctly, my score is lower than that of this man:

He was pulling a 6.1 when I was pulling a 5.7. Wow. He has a mullet. And his shirt is open for the northern half of his torso. And I, with my nicely maintained hair and freshly pressed shirt, pull a 5.7. Damn, Gina. Oh, well.

Last night we watched "Cabaret." It was great fun. So far, we've been watching movies with Nazi subplots, so we figure that we'll watch "Fiddler on the Roof" and/or "Jesus Christ Superstar" next, keeping the Jewish thing going.

When we watched "Sound of Music," Candy said that she wanted to have seven children (two boys, five girls,) and exploit them like Uncle Max did. She was talking about how that was the only reason she wants children, now. Isn't that funny? Well, I thought it was, anyway. I think she did, too.

Okay. I seriously think I may be slipping a little bit. I planned on making my days off seriously productive, and although I have completed many *many* things on my long list, I still have quite a ways to go. I have been sleeping in, too, which kind of scares me... My last seriously depression recurrence was characterised by difficulty getting out of bed. It was totally ridiculous. So I don't know if I just slept in because I've been totally exhausted, or because I'm having a recurrence. This, coupled with my dissatisfaction with my own productivity has me a little concerned. I don't want to get stuck in the olypic-sized swimming pool of molases that used to characterise my life. I will have to pay very close attention to what's going on to try to keep myself out of that. Cross your fingers, ladies and gentlemen. Thank you.

Okay. I'm starving. I'm going to go make some "Whacky Mac" brand macaroni and cheese, then I'm going to call Mom and try to continue to unravel the RLO nightmare (steps one and two are complete, so I'm on my way with this last one).

A la prochaine!

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc