Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

28 October 2001 | 7:06 PM

Then Was The Hour of My Discontent!

Third entry of the day, I know. I'm not sure if it's healthy, either. This is a special request from Nancy, though... I started telling her a story, but didn't finish, so here we go.

Today I went to Bartell's. Please keep in mind that I have been shopping at Bartell's for a little over a year, if I remember correctly, often writing checks with no problem, really... The most delay I have ever experienced there was once when they had to verify my account by calling a quick 800-number because my account was opened in California, not in Washington.

So today, the lovely cashier, Vivian, takes one look at my check and calls for Manager service. Which is fine, they sometimes need to do this with my checks. While the address is local, the account was opened out-of-state. They just need some initials and they're fine.

The manager, the not-so-lovely-at-all Steve comes by and looks at my check.

"Are you.... a student here, orrrrrrr...?" He asked.

I replied in the affirmative.

He asked where I attended school. I told him.

He asked to see my student ID, in addition to the California driver's license in front of him. According to Steve, a California driver's license isn't considered valid identification. Seeing as how they have always accepted my license, this is either total bullshit, or no one has bothered to mention it to me in a year of my flashing them the damned thing. I personally think that the former is the case.

Either way, I supplied my school identification.

He asked my student number.

THE NERVE!!!

I lied and said that I didn't know it.

Explaining that it is usually your Social Security Number, he asked me for that!!

Understanding the implications of Social Security Numbers, their corolation with identity theft, insurance fraud, et cetera, I decided to keep that to myself. I did this slickly by explaining that the student ID number and the SSN were different, and that I knew this because I used to work in data processing and that the number of digits in each number group was different.

I explained that whenever this happens to me, someone calls the 800-number on the check and takes care of it.

Steve wanted me to use my debit card instead. I said I didn't have one, even though I did, and didn't feel like using something with easily swiped numbers.

Steve explained to me that while the 800-number process works, it is time consuming and is not as convenient for me or for other customers. I thought to myself, (yes, and even if I didn't have a debit card, going and getting one, specifically for you, wouldn't be convenient for me. It's my money and convenience to begin with, so why don't you just shut the fuck up?)

Ultimately, the check was accepted. Not before I was lectured, embarassed, inconvenienced and insulted.

I'm planning on writing a letter to Bartell's, explaining that this condescending, uncooperative behaviour is unnacceptable, especially when exibhited by an employee, much less a manager!! I shouldn't have to coax a manager to let me shop. I had three items, for the love of Pete! I intend on mentioning that if it is just too inconvenient and unagreeable for them to take my money, then I can very well take my business elsewhere. After all, Mr. Bartell could probably put his kids through an Ivy-League school on my perscriptions alone! I have never bounced a check or shown any discourtesy whatsoever to their staff, and I don't think it's unreasonable to expect the same in return, do you?

I'm not being irrational or anything am I? I mean, the only reason I feel like writing is because I haven't written any good corporate complaint-like hate mail in a long time, and a juicy gift certificate wouldn't kill me, being a college student and all.... We'll see how it goes, I'll try to keep you all updated. Wish me luck!

Similar Bartell's complaints? Lemme know by signing my guestbook, or writing [email protected]!! We'll get 'em!

In other news, I'm caught up on homework through Tuesday, as far as I know... I could get a head start on a couple of papers, what with this extra hour I have, but we'll have to see.

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc