Rings|Clix|G-book|Profile|Recommend

Listening to: From the Choirgirl Hotel. Not for long, though... it's not really matching my mood quite like I was expecting it too.

Currently Reading: Just barely started Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music. Kind of saving it for the train, as well as a stack of others (both fiction and non). Also, I recently read Laurie Notaro's I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl (again) in like two days, and peed myself laughing. Highly recommended. I also devoured The Broke Diaries by Angela Nissel in, like, a mere few days. Laughed until I peed. Also highly recommended.

Wishing: income. Lots of it. Other than that, life's pretty good.

I couldn't be more The current mood of ronkc@diaryland.com at www.imood.com right now.

Buy "Civilised Conversation..." Merchandise! Please? All the cool kids are doing it....

Please help me pay for college by purchasing items from Amazon.com through this link!!

Do you love me?

10 December 2001 | 10:30 AM

Debating

Okay.

The other two members of our team did not show up until 8:30. We were slated to debate first, but because they were late, we had to go last. Which sucked.

After the first debate, we took a break. I knew my team members would want to meet as a group during break, but I thought to myself, you know, go screw. I was put in a really awkward position, and to think that I should give up my break for those people is ludicrous.

But they did show up, and we did debate. I think Jeanette was a little confused as to which side we were arguing, though, because she kept talking about how she used to be on welfare, and how hard it sucked, and how you have to lie in order to get funding, and how doctors don't want to take your welfare cupons because they only get 35 cents to the dollar, and how she's raising her son (her biological nephew), and the social security which he generates helps her and them, but that these social institutions that are supposed to be beneficial are really barbaric. Now I don't necessarily disagree with everything she said. Things do suck in our society. However, we're supposed to be debating that what the text says is valid, and that greater economic justice is attainable through cooperation and fairness. But, no. She keeps bitching about how she resented receiving funding, and how people were mean to her because she was sucking up tax dollars. I wonder if she got it at all.

So I ended up doing most of the arguments and addressing most of the objections. Which is fine, I mean, more grade for me, right?

Afterwards, I spoke with my professor. The skinny little thing who doesn't pronounce all of her consonnants. She said thah I dih a rilly greah job. I asked her for a ballpark as far as grading was concerned. Now, I went in with a borderline B/B+, and she said that I got all of the points on the debate, (though she couldnah say fir my team-mace, necessarily), and so depending on the paper I wrote (in which I feel particularly confident), I could come out of this trashcan smelling like roses, if you know what I mean.

Sometimes, I really love my life. Sigh.

One more paper to go, boys and girls, one more paper to go.

��������������������������������������������������

Oh, Whoops. - 10:34 PM , 02 September 2005

In Like Hula-Hoops. - 11:28 PM , 12 April 2005

A - Z - 4:37 AM , 26 March 2005

w00t - 12:15 AM , 25 March 2005

Just Let Her Go. - 12:12 AM , 20 March 2005

��������������������������������������������������


�2001 Design by CC | Words by ronkc